Stealthy Face Recognition On By Default

Another privacy intrusion stealthily introduced and turned on by default: FB will attempt to recognize your face in all uploaded photos, then “suggest” to the uploading user to tag them with your name. So FB keeps the recognition database anyway and adds situation info to its social graph, but users (still) have to explicitly match the results with names. Here's how to turn this new feature off.

Posted: 09 June 2011

comments powered by Disqus